Marriage License Bureau
Please visit Coronavirus (COVID-19) for the latest Operational updates.
Couples wishing to become legally married in the state of Florida must apply for a marriage license in person and be of age 18 and over. A Florida marriage license allows a couple to get married anywhere in Florida, regardless of the county the license was purchased from. There is no residency or citizenship requirement to apply for a Florida marriage license. However, if you are getting married outside of the state of Florida, you need to obtain the marriage license from that state or country where you will be married.
All state of Florida residents have a mandatory 3-day waiting period before the marriage license becomes effective, or the option of attending a 4-hour premarital course from a registered provider. An Online Premarital Course Provider Directory is available to assist you in locating a premarital course provider, or you will find a copy at any of our Marriage License district court locations. The couple must present the original certificate of completion when applying for their marriage license. Non-Florida residents are exempt from the 3-day waiting period.
After a marriage license has been obtained, the marriage ceremony can be performed on or after the effective date. A brief civil ceremony can be performed by a Deputy Clerk at the Central Marriage License Bureau located at Overtown Transit Village South, 601 NW 1 Court, Suite 1900, Miami, Florida 33136, or at any of the Marriage License Offices.
The marriage ceremony must be performed within 60 days of the issuance of the license. After the marriage ceremony, the original marriage license must be returned to the Miami-Dade County Marriage License Bureau within ten (10) days.
Visit the fee schedule for a list of our marriage ceremonial service fees.
As per the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990; anyone needing special accommodations to access these services should contact the ADA Coordinator.
PLEASE ADVISE THE CLERK IF YOU ARE EXEMPT UNDER
Marriage License Requirements
When applying for a marriage license both spouses must be present. If one or both of the applicants are minors, under 18 years of age, additional requirements apply.
All applicants must present a valid federal or state government photo identification with the correct legal name, date of birth and signature.
Types of photo identification accepted:
- Driver’s License issued by any state in the U.S.
- S. Military ID
- Alien Registration Card
- State Identification Card issued by any state in the U.S.
- Naturalization Certificate (original)
Other information required:
- All U.S. citizens and residents must provide their Social Security Number.
- Non-U.S. citizens may provide an Alien Registration Card, U.S. State issued Driver’s License, or Passport number if Social Security Number has not been issued.
- If either applicant has been previously married, they must provide the exact date of the last divorce, death or annulment. If the divorce took place in Miami-Dade County go to the Family Online Case Search and view the docket link for the divorce final judgment date.
- The Family Law Handbook (in English or Spanish) must be read prior to obtaining the Marriage License. The Family Law Handbook is also available for viewing in the Central Marriage License Bureau and district court locations.
To expedite the application process, please complete our online marriage license pre-application, print it or bring the confirmation number with you to one of the Miami Dade County Marriage License Offices.
Additional Requirements for Minor Applicants
Applicants - 17 years old:
In addition to the standard requirements for a marriage license, all the following documents must be presented when one or both applicants are 17 years old:
- Both parents or legal guardian must be present with valid photo identification. The exceptions will be if the parents are divorced and one parent has full custody of the minor or Death Certificate of parent deceased. In this case, certified copy of custody's court order must be presented and only the consent of the custodial parent will be required.
- Original Minor's birth certificate showing parent's name
- parental consent forms
Additionally, a person that is at least 17 years of age may only marry if the other party is no more than two years older.
Applicants under 17 years old:
Per Florida Statute 741.04, we are prohibited from issuing a marriage license to any person under 17 years of age.
ALL UNDERAGE APPLICATIONS ARE PROCESSED AT THE CENTRAL MARRIAGE LICENSE BUREAU LOCATED AT OVERTOWN TRANSIT VILLAGE SOUTH, 601 NW 1st COURT, ROOM 1900 MIAMI, FL 33136