Harvey Ruvin - Clerk of the Courts - Miami-Dade County, Florida

Traffic Mailer Information

INSTRUCTIONS

Failure to not satisfy your citation(s) by selecting one of the options within 30 days of issue date will result in the suspension of your Driver’s License and will require the payment of additional fees.

WARNING NOTICE

Pursuant to F.S. 28.246(6), any fine and cost that remain unpaid in excess of 90 days may be referred to a collection agency, and an additional 40% charge will be added to the amount owed.

In order to avoid delays and long lines at the courthouse, please:

   Both are available 24 hours a day/7 days a week. Please wait 15 days from the date you receive the citation before selecting the above services. 

 *********                NOTE                  *********     

If the citation is not in the system and you are unable to process your citation online or by phone, you are still responsible to satisfy the citation within 30 days of issue date either by mail or in person:

SEND PAYMENT AND/OR CORRESPONDENCE TO: CLERK OF COURTS, P.O.BOX 19321, MIAMI, FL 33101-9321

DEPUTY CLERKS ARE AVAILABLE TO ASSIST YOU FROM 9:00 A.M. TO 4:00 P.M. MONDAY-FRIDAY, AT ANY OF THE FOLLOWING LOCATIONS:

North Dade Justice Center        Joseph Caleb Center
15555 Biscayne Boulevard        5400 NW 22 Ave, #103
Miami, FL 33160                      Miami, FL 33142

Coral Gables                            Miami Beach
3100 Ponce de Leon                 1130 Washington Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134             Miami Beach, FL 33139

South Dade Justice Center        Richard E. Gerstein Justice Building
10710 S.W. 211th Street           1351 N.W.12th Street, #124
Miami, FL 33189                       Miami, FL 33125

Hialeah
11 East 6th Street
Hialeah, FL 33010

OPTIONS TO SATISFY YOUR CITATION

OPTION 1 – PAY civil penalty. Points will be applied against your license when applicable.

PENALTIES:                             Within 30 Days              After 30 Days

Bicycle/pedestrian violations               $  77.50             $  93.50
Child restraint violations                       179.00               195.00
Failure to stop for a school bus              284.00               300.00
Illegal parking in disabled space            196.00               212.00
Moving violations (except speeding
and failure to stop at traffic signal)        179.00*             195.00*
Spectator to a drag race                       244.00               260.00
Non-moving violations                          129.00               145.00
Seat Belt  violations                             129.00               145.00
Speeding violations                       See below             See below
Toll facility violations                            149.00               165.00
                                                     ( Plus amount of unpaid toll )
Failure to move over/slow down            149.00               165.00
Illegal railroad crossing                        219.00               235.00
All terrain vehicle violations                  124.00               140.00
Farm Labor Veh/Notice not displayed     199.00               215.00
Farm Labor Veh/Equipment Violation     299.00               315.00
Failure to stop at traffic signal
F.S. 316.074(1) or 316.075(1)(c)1  277.00               293.00

*Exception--On moving violations of any section of Chapters 320 & 322 of Florida Statutes the penalties are within 30 days $176.00, after 30 days $192.00.

SPEEDING                                         SCHOOL, CONSTRUCTION,
PENALTIES:        POSTED ZONE                   TOLL ZONES

                         Within         After             Within            After

MPH.Over        30 Days       30 Days          30 Days        30 Days

1   -   5  mph  Warning     Warning        $ 169.00**     $ 185.00**
6   -   9  mph  $144.00      $160.00          169.00            185.00
10 - 14  mph    219.00        235.00          319.00            335.00
15 - 19  mph    269.00        285.00          419.00            435.00
20 - 29  mph    294.00        310.00          469.00            485.00
30 & over mph  369.00***  385.00***   619.00***   635.00***

***   Fine accepted only for speeding violations 30 miles &
         over issued  under F.S. 316.1895 & 316.183 (3).
30 & over mph Mandatory Court Appearance for speeding violations
         30 miles & over issued under F.S. 316.183 (2), 316.187 & 316.189.
**1–5 mph--Payment required only on speeding in a School Zone. 


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Driver’s License, Tag, Registration, Insurance Violations (some exceptions may apply)

These violations will be DISMISSED if you mail proof that before the citation was issued you had valid documentation. A $10.00 dismissal fee is required. If document was not valid before the citation was issued, you must mail proof of valid document and pay a fine of $129.00.

Improper/Unsafe Equipment Violations (F.S. 316.610 & 316.2935)

You may receive a reduced civil penalty on these violations, if you send written proof within 30 days of the issue date that the defect has been corrected. A $109.00 civil penalty is required.

PAYMENT FORM

  • Mail a copy of the citation(s) with this form. You may pay by check, money order, in U.S. funds. Please make check or money order payable to CLERK OF COURTS. DO NOT SEND CASH.
  • To avoid late fees and the suspension of your driver’s license, your payment must be received in this office WITHIN 30 DAYS of the issue date of the citation.

PLEASE PRINT


Last Name                                   First Name                   Middle Name


Street Address                                                                            Apt. #


City                                                       State                        Zip Code


Area Code                      Telephone Number

 

Citation Numbers                                           Amount Paid

___________________________          _$_________________

 __________________________           ___________________                                             

___________________________          ___________________

___________________________          ___________________

 Ο  Check       Ο  Money Order              TOTAL $


CREDIT CARD PAYMENT

We honor VISA, DISCOVER, AMERICAN EXPRESS, and MASTERCARD.

Due to changes in credit card security and for our customer’s protection, we no longer accept credit card payment through the mail.  You can save on postage and time waiting in line by PAYING ONLINE BY CREDIT CARD.

 

OPTION 2 – Attend a traffic school program. Points will not be assessed against your license. Drivers holding a Commercial Driver License (CDL) and Toll Facility Violations are not eligible to attend traffic school to avoid points. In addition, this option does not apply to Driver’s License, Tag, Registration, or Insurance violations. Complete and mail the attached SCHOOL ELECTION FORM and the PAYMENT FORM. To elect school see instructions on back of this form.

SCHOOL CIVIL PENALTIES:      Within 30 Days      After 30 Days

Child restraint violations                   $ 180.60          $   196.60
(see NOTE below)
Failure to stop for school bus                291.00              307.00 Moving violations (except speeding
and failure to stop at traffic signal)       180.60*             196.60*
Spectator to a drag race                      245.60               261.60
Failure to move over/slow down           156.00               172.00
Illegal Railroad Crossing                      226.00               242.00
Speeding violations                        See below           See bellow
Failure to stop at traffic signal
F.S. 316.074(1) or 316.075(1)(c)1 284.00               300.00

*Exception--Traffic School on moving violations of any section of Chapters 320 & 322 of Florida Statutes the penalties are within 30 days $177.60, after 30 days $193.60.

          SPEEDING VIOLATIONS SCHOOL CIVIL PENALTY

                                                         SCHOOL, CONSTRUCTION,
                            POSTED ZONE                 TOLL ZONES           

                          Within         After            Within             After
M.P.H.Over      30 Days      30 Days          30 Days        30 Days

 1 - 5   mph      Warning     Warning        $171.50*        $187.50*
 6 - 9   mph       $148.75     $164.75         171.50           187.50
 10 - 14   mph     217.00       233.00         308.00           324.00
 15 - 19   mph     262.50       278.50         399.00           415.00
 20 - 29  mph      285.25       301.25         444.50           460.50
 30 & over mph   353.50**   369.50**    581.00**       597.00 **

**    Traffic School accepted for speeding violations
        30 miles & over issued under F.S. 316.1895 & 316.183(3).

 *1 – 5 mph - Payment required only on speeding in a School Zone

NOTE:    You may receive a reduced fine and a withhold of adjudication by attending the Child Restraint Offender’s Program at Miami Children’s Hospital, 3100 SW 62 Ave., Miami FL 33155, Tel.305-663-6865.

                                          WITHIN 30 DAYS    AFTER 30 DAYS 
Child restraint violations           $ 126.00                 $ 142.00
(reduced fine)

AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT: Qualified individuals requiring an ADA accommodation may contact the Court ADA Coordinator at Telephone (305) 349-7175; TDD (305) 349-7174, Fax (305) 349-7355. Individuals who are hearing or voice impaired may contact the telephone number listed via the Florida Relay Service at 1-800-955-8771, or by dialing 711. Certain Traffic information and services are also available on-line at www.miamidade.gov.  Please note, at least 7 days advance notice is required when scheduling Sign Language Interpreters.  This document is available in alternate formats upon request. 

TRAFFIC SCHOOL ELECTION FORM

 


Citation Number

 


Last Name                          First Name                           Middle Name

 


Driver’s License Number                                                 Date of Birth

(CHECK BOX A, B or C)

A. I am eligible and elect to attend a four (4) hour basic traffic course, pursuant to Section 318.14(9) Florida Statutes, because I have not elected to attend such a course within the past twelve (12) months, or five (5) times in my lifetime, and do not hold a CDL license, and was not charged with a toll violation.

B. I am eligible and elect to attend an eight (8) hour intermediate driver improvement course, pursuant to Administrative Order No.99-14. I am no longer eligible to attend the four (4) hour course, and I have never before elected to attend the eight (8) hour course.

C. I am eligible and elect to attend a ninety (90) minute Child Restraint Offender’s Program, pursuant to Administrative Order No. 92-33, because I have never elected to attend such a program. This Program is available ONLY in MIAMI-DADE COUNTY.

I, the undersigned, do solemnly swear or affirm that I am eligible for the option checked above. I am pleading no contest to the charge, and requesting to attend a school program.

 


Signature                                                                           Date

HOW TO ENROLL IN TRAFFIC SCHOOL

  1. Contact the traffic school of your choice. For a list of traffic schools in your area refer to the Yellow Pages of your telephone directory, or check online at hsmv.state.fl.us/ddl/bdis.html.
  2. You must mail the SCHOOL ELECTION FORM along with your payment and the copy of your citation to the Clerk of Courts.
  3. To pre-register for the Child Restraint Offender’s Program, call within 2 weeks of course election. Registration and fee collection begins at 6 p.m. Course fee: $30.00 (Cash Only) See OPTION 2 for LOCATION INFORMATION.

WARNING NOTICE

  1. Failure to complete the four (4) hour Traffic School Program listed in Section (A) of the SCHOOL ELECTION FORM within 120 days of your election will cause points to be assessed against your driver’s license, suspension of your driver’s license, and the assessment of additional fines and costs.*
  2. Failure to complete the eight (8) hour Traffic School Program listed in Section (B) of the SCHOOL ELECTION FORM within 120 days or the Child Restraint Offender’s Program listed in Section (C) of the SCHOOL ELECTION FORM within 60 days will result in the court suspending your driver’s license until you complete the program.*

* MUST MAIL CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION

 

OPTION 3 – Request a court hearing on the violation(s). If it is determined that an infraction has been committed, the Court may impose a civil penalty not to exceed $500.00* in addition to applicable court costs or require you to attend traffic school, or both. To make your request, call 305-275-1111, or complete and mail the attached REQUEST FOR A COURT HEARING FORM.

*Violations involving a death or speeding in school/construction zones the fine shall not exceed $1,000.00 in addition to applicable court costs.

REQUEST FOR A COURT HEARING FORM

Call 305-275-1111 to request a court hearing (no operator assistance required), or you may complete and mail this form.

  1. Mail a copy of the citation(s) with this form to the Clerk of Courts.
  2. To avoid late fees and the suspension of your driver’s license, your Request for a Court Hearing Form must be received in this office WITHIN 30 DAYS of the issue date of the citation.
  3. Sign your request on the line provided.

PLEASE PRINT


Citation Number (s)

 


Last Name                            First Name              Middle Name

 


Driver’s License Number                                 Date of Birth

I request that the citation(s) listed above be set for a court hearing.

 


Signature                                                                   Date

 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS FORM

Please complete if your address is different from the address on your citation. We must have your current address to notify you of your court date.

 


Street Address                                                          Apt. #

 


City                                           State                       Zip Code