Harvey Ruvin - Clerk of the Courts - Miami-Dade County, Florida

Traffic Citation Information

INSTRUCTIONS

Failure to not satisfy your citation(s) by selecting one of the options within 30 days of issue date will result in the suspension of your Driver’s License and will require the payment of additional fees.

In order to avoid delays and long lines at the courthouse, please:

• Dial (305) 275-1111 or
• Visit our Website at www.miami-dadeclerk.com Both are available 24 hours a day/7 days a week. Please wait 15 days from the date you receive the citation before selecting the above services.

NOTE: If the citation is not in the system and you are unable to process your citation online or by phone, you are still responsible to satisfy the citation within 30 days of issue date either by mail or in person:

SEND PAYMENT AND/OR CORRESPONDENCE TO:

CLERK OF COURTS, P.O.BOX 19321, MIAMI, FL 33101-9321

DEPUTY CLERKS ARE AVAILABLE TO ASSIST YOU FROM 9:00 A.M. TO 4:00 P.M. MONDAY-FRIDAY, AT ANY OF THE FOLLOWING LOCATIONS:

North Dade Justice Center 15555 Biscayne Boulevard  Miami, FL 33160
Martin Luther King  2525 N.W. 62nd St., #1200A Miami, FL 33147
Coral Gables 3100 Ponce de Leon, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Miami Beach 1130 Washington Avenue  Miami Beach, FL 33139
Sweetwater 500 S.W. 109th Avenue, Sweetwater, FL 33174
South Dade Justice Center 10710 S.W. 211th Street  Miami, FL 33189
Richard E. Gerstein  Justice Building 1351 N.W.12th Street, #124  Miami, FL 33125
Hialeah 11 East 6th Street, Hialeah, FL 33010

WARNING NOTICE

Pursuant to F.S. 28.246(6), any fine and cost that remain unpaid in excess of 90 days may be referred to a collection agency, and an additional 40% charge will be added to the amount owed.

FORM OF PAYMENT

• Mail a copy of the citation (s) with this form. You may pay by check, money order, in U.S. funds. Please make check or money order payable to CLERK OF COURTS. DO NOT SEND CASH.
• To avoid late fees and the suspension of your driver’s license, your payment must be received in this office WITHIN 30 DAYS of the issue date of the citation.

PLEASE PRINT

Last Name, First Name, Middle Name
Street Address Apt # City State Zip Code
Area Code Telephone Number
Citation Numbers and Amount Paid for each

Check or Money Order and TOTAL $

CREDIT CARD PAYMENT

We honor only VISA, AMERICAN EXPRESS and MASTERCARD.

Due to changes in credit card security and for our customer’s protection, we no longer accept credit card payment through the mail. You can save on postage and time waiting in line by PAYING ONLINE BY CREDIT CARD.

OPTIONS TO SATISFY YOUR CITATION

OPTION 1PAY civil penalty. Points will be applied against your license when applicable.

PENALTIES:                                                            Within 30 Days

Bicycle/pedestrian violations                                      $77.50
Child restraint violations                                            $179.00
Failure to stop for a school bus                                   $284.00
Illegal parking in disabled space                                 $196.00
Moving violations
(except speeding and failure to stop at traffic signal)    $179.00*
Spectator to a drag race                                             $244.00
Non-moving violations                                               $129.00
Seat Belt violations                                                    $129.00
Speeding violations See below 
Toll facility violations                                                 $149.00 (Plus amount of unpaid toll)
Failure to move over/slow down                                 $149.00
Illegal railroad crossing                                              $219.00
All terrain vehicle violations                                        $124.00
Farm Labor Veh/Notice not displayed                           $199.00
Farm Labor Veh/Equipment Violation                           $299.00
Failure to stop at Traffic Signal
F.S. 316.074(1) or 316.075(1)(c)1                              $277.00 

*Exception–On moving violations of any section of Chapters 320 & 322 of Florida Statutes the penalties are within 30 days $176.00

PENALTIES: After 30 Days

Bicycle/pedestrian violations                                    $93.50
Child restraint violations                                          $195.00
Failure to stop for a school bus                                 $300.00
Illegal parking in disabled space                               $212.00
Moving violations
(except speeding and failure to stop at traffic signal) $195.00*
Spectator to a drag race                                          $260.00
Non-moving violations                                             $145.00
Seat Belt violations                                                 $145.00
Speeding violations See below
Toll facility violations                                               $165.00 (Plus amount of unpaid toll)
Failure to move over/slow down                               $165.00
Illegal railroad crossing $235.00
All terrain vehicle violations                                     $140.00
Farm Labor Veh/Notice not displayed                        $215.00
Farm Labor Veh/Equipment Violation                        $315.00
Failure to stop at Traffic Signal
F.S. 316.074(1) or 316.075(1)(c)1                           $293.00


*Exception–On moving violations of any section of Chapters 320 & 322 of Florida Statutes the penalties are within 30 days $176.00, after 30 days $192.00.

SPEEDING PENALTIES:

                 POSTED ZONE                                            

MPH Over      Within 30 Days   After 30 Days     

1 - 5 mph          Warning           Warning            
6 - 9 mph          $144.00           $160.00            
10 - 14 mph       $219.00           $235.00            
15 - 19 mph       $269.00           $285.00         
20 - 29 mhp       $294.00           $310.00            
30 & over mph    $369.00***     $385.00***      

30 & over mph Mandatory Court Appearance for speeding violations 30 miles & over issued under F.S. 316.183 (2), 316.187 & 316.189.

SCHOOL, CONSTRUCTION, TOLL ZONES  

MPH Over     Within 30 Days     After 30 Days

1 - 5 mph         $169.00**           $185.00**
6 - 9 mph         $169.00               $185.00
10 - 14 mph      $319.00              $335.00
15 - 19 mph      $419.00              $435.00
20 - 29 mhp      $469.00              $485.00
30 & over mph   $619.00***        $635.00***

**1 – 5 mph.- Payment required only on speeding in a School Zone.

*** Fine accepted only for speeding violations 30 miles & over issued under F.S. 316.1895 & 316.183 (3).

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Driver’s License, Tag, Registration, Insurance Violations (some exceptions may apply) These violations will be DISMISSED if you mail proof that before the citation was issued you had valid documentation. A $10.00 dismissal fee is required. If document was not valid before the citation was issued, you must mail proof of valid document and pay a fine of $129.00.

Improper/Unsafe Equipment Violations (F.S. 316.610 & 316.2935) You may receive a reduced civil penalty on these violations, if you send written proof within 30 days of the issue date that the defect has been corrected. A $109.00 civil penalty is required.

OPTION 2 – Attend a traffic school program. Points will not be assessed against your license. Drivers holding a Commercial Driver License (CDL) and Toll Facility Violators are not eligible to attend traffic school to avoid points. In addition, this option does not apply to Driver’s License, Tag, Registration, or Insurance violations. Complete and mail the attached SCHOOL ELECTION FORM and the PAYMENT FORM. To elect a traffic school course see instructions on the back of this form.

SCHOOL CIVIL PENALTIES:

                                               Within 30 days    After 30 days

Child restraint violations                      $186.00       $202.00
(see NOTE below)
Failure to stop for school bus               $291.00        $307.00
Moving violations (except speeding
and failure to stop at traffic signal)       $186.00*      $202.00*
Spectator to a drag race                      $251.00        $267.00
Failure to move over/slow down           $156.00        $172.00
Illegal Railroad Crossing                      $226.00        $242.00
Speeding violations                             See below     See below
Failure to stop at Traffic Signal
F.S. 316.074(1) or 316.075(1)(c)1       $284.00       $300.00

*Exception–Traffic School on moving violations of any section of Chapters 320 & 322 of Florida Statutes the penalties are within 30 days $183.00, after 30 days $199.00.

SPEEDING VIOLATIONS SCHOOL CIVIL PENALTY

                               POSTED ZONE                       

MPH Over            Within 30 Days           After 30 Days     

1 - 5 mph                 Warning                     Warning
6 - 9 mph                 $151.00                     $167.00
10 - 14 mph             $ 226.00                    $242.00
15 - 19 mph             $276.00                     $292.00
20 - 29 mph             $301.00                     $317.00
30 & over mph          $376.00 **                $392.00**

 SCHOOL, CONSTRUCTION,  TOLL ZONES

MPH Over             Within 30 Days   After 30 Day

1 - 5 mph                $ 176.00*              $ 192.00*
6 - 9 mph                $151.00                 $167.00
10 - 14 mph             $326.00                 $342.00
15 - 19 mph             $426.00                 $442.00
20 - 29 mph             $476.00                 $492.00
30 & over mph         $626.00**              $642.00**

*1 – 5 mph.- Payment required only on speeding in a School Zone

NOTE: You may receive a reduced fine and a withhold of adjudication by attending the Child Restraint Offender’s Program at Miami Children’s Hospital, 3100 S.W. 62nd Ave., Miami, FL 33155, Tel. 305-663-6865.

                                       WITHIN 30 DAYS      AFTER 30 DAYS
Child restraint violations            $126.00                     $142.00 
(reduced fine)

OPTION 3 – Request a trial on the violation(s). If it is determined that an infraction has been committed, the Court may impose a civil penalty not to exceed $500.00* in addition to applicable court cost or require you to attend traffic school, or both. To make your request, call 305-275-1111, or complete and mail the REQUEST FOR TRIAL information.

*Violations involving a death or speeding in school/construction zones the fine shall not exceed $1,000.00 in addition to applicable court costs.

Call 305-275-1111 to request a trial (no operator assistance required) or you may complete and mail the information below.

1. Mail a copy of the citation(s) with this form to the Clerk of Courts.
2. To avoid late fees and the suspension of your driver’s license, your Request for Trial Form must be received in this office WITHIN 30 DAYS of the issue date of the citation.
3. Sign your request.

PLEASE PRINT:
Citation Number(s)
Last Name, First Name, Middle Name
Driver’s License Number
Date of Birth
Please write...
I request that the citation(s) listed above be set for trial.
Sign it and Date it 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS 

Please notify us if your address is different from the address on your citation. We must have your current address to notify you of your court date.

Americans With Disabilities Act: Qualified individuals requiring an ADA Accommodation may contact the Court ADA Coordinator at Telephone (305) 349-7175; TDD (305) 349-7174, Fax (305) 349-7355. Individuals who are hearing or voice impaired may contact the telephone number listed via the Florida Relay Service at 1-800-955-8771, or by dialing 711. Certain Traffic information and services are also available on–line at www.miamidade.com. Please note, at least 7 days advanced notice is required when scheduling Sign Language Interpreters. This document is available in alternate formats upon request.